The Manor 2395 Bayview Avenue, Toronto Ontario M2L 1A2
416 449 9651 ext 103
Originally named “Stonedene”, The Manor was built in 1929
and is an example of a domestic estate building constructed in the Tudor Revival Style.
Stonedene was built for Harry Lynne Plummer
and his wife Joyce. In 1949, the Land Registry indicates that Victoria
T. Matthews, the wife of Major General Albert Bruce Matthews, owned
the property. Major General Matthews was educated at Upper Canada
College and the University of Geneva .
Matthews served with the
Canadian Military, 7 th Toronto regiment, Royal Canadian Artillery from
1928 – 1939 and was involved in the Second World War between
the years of 1939 – 1945. He served in several capacities, achieving
the rank of Major General in 1944.
The property was sold to the Ontario Mission of the Deaf in
1976 and the house was converted into administrative offices. The goal
was to build a Community Centre for the Deaf that Canada
has never before seen.
That goal was realized a few years later.
Today, The Bob Rumball Centre for the Deaf boasts residential programs
for the elderly, a preschool program, a vocational training program
and an adult education curriculum, all to meet the needs of the deaf
and hard of hearing in North America .
Rev. Bob Rumball was
instrumental in the raising of funds to make the dream a reality. He called in
the efforts of friends like Conn Smythe, Whipper Watson and Harold Ballard, . Bob Rumball
himself was a professional football player and played for the Ottawa
Roughriders and the Toronto Argos
Since 1976, The Manor has served as administrative offices for
programs such as group homes, a summer camp and interpreting services.
In May of 1996, the Junior League of Toronto brought in top design firms in
the Toronto area and gave the house a much needed facelift. The Manor was
then showcased to the community as a fundraising event. Today, we are
offering this beautiful, elegant space to the community to be used for
weddings, parties and corporate functions.